Your research project is divided into two parts. Part 1 is the Annotated Bibliography and part 2 is the paper itself, finding sources and composing text. Once you’ve familiarized yourself with the prompt you will start working, and a crucial step in the process is finding sources. This assignment asks you to gather both your thoughts and your research sources, marking a major milestone in your research project. Basically, then, this is where you tell me what your sources are, so I can tell you if you’re on the right track.
You may not use a class reading or a film or a fictional text as a source for this assignment. This must all be done with original research.
There is a file in the Research Project module that contains a correctly formatted example of an Annotated Bibliography. Note: NONE of the entries contains quotations.
1. Find 3 sources from the library database or Internet that pertain to your topic. 2 MUST be from our library; 1 can be from the Internet or the library. You can find sources on the literature or on empathy. These sources should be academic sources, or online sources written by academics (such as essays from Aeon, The New Yorker, The Economist, or The Atlantic). Blogs, personal websites, popular media, and news sites are not acceptable sources.
2. Compose an annotated bibliography following MLA format. Your bibliography should have two parts: an introduction and the bibliography itself.
3. The Introduction should be around 300 words and it should discuss what you plan to write about in your essay. DO NOT use quotations, just share your plans in your own words.
4. The Annotated Bibliography should follow MLA. Each of the four entries should be two paragraphs. The first paragraph should be a summary that follows our four-part summary format. It should NOT contain quotes and should be done completely in your own words. In a second paragraph explain in 150 or so words why this source is relevant. Here, too you should NOT use quotes.
