Dating from 1653 to the current year, these records consist of minutes, reports, correspondence, probate files, deeds, court records, tax records, photographs, maps, drawings, publications, audio-visual recordings,
The Hargrett Library focuses on Georgia history and culture, holding rare books and Georgiana, historical manuscripts, photographs, maps, broadsides, and UGA archives and records. Other areas of emphasis include performing arts and natural history. Holdings date from the 15th century to the present. Visit us at the Russell Special Collections Building.
Plymouth Colony Archive presents a collection of fully searchable texts, including: court records, colony laws, seventeenth century journals and memoirs, probate inventories, wills, town plans, maps, and fort plans; research and seminar analyses of numerous topics; biographical profiles of selected colonists; and architectural, archaeological and material culture studies.
Beginning in 1623, this history discusses the authority of the English land-grant, used by Captain John Mason establishing a fishing colony in what is now New Hampshire, at the mouth of the Piscataqua River. Covers the period when New Hampshire was named North Virginia, and it's a period when it was under the jurisdiction of Massachusetts.
This project address basic questions and issues related to why the people of Albany, New York would jeopardize an advantaged way of life that set them apart from most settlers living in the upper Hudson region, risk everything to oppose British restrictions, drive them to open rebellion, and then to the founding of a new state and nation.
A list of North Carolina historic areas, townships, buildings, battle sites and includes a World War II battleship. The sites listed have been witnesses to the births of future presidents, the assemblies of governing bodies, great advances in science and the arts, and the conflicts of armies.
A summary of the establishment of the colony of South Carolina in 1670, and its subsequent ratification of the U.S. constitution in 1788. Discusses its early economy based largely agriculture, and its reliance on the slave trade for cheap labor to run plantations.
South Carolina collection of colonial records for the Proprietary Period (1670-1721). Preserved in the state archives, but only partially indexed and written in seventeenth-century script. The collection is on microfilm.
The text of the first (1606) of three charters for the colony of Virginia. The differences among the three charters lie primarily in the territorial jurisdiction of the company, not in the right to govern the colony.
Biographical Sketches of Algonquian Leaders
Interpretive Essay by Crandall Shifflett
Interpretive Essay and Powerpoint on Statehouse Development
Preview: 3D recreation of Paspahegh Indian village, an on-going project
Pilgrim Hal is an extraordinary collection of 17th century artifacts, some of which actually came on the Mayflower. The collection illuminates the story of early Plymouth Colony. It’s an intimate story of families, of differing cultures, and of struggle, sacrifice, courage, and perseverance. In many ways, it’s the story of the founding of America.