Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About the Assignment
The summary response essay is just what the title says. It is the summary of an article and your response to the article’s arguments. In order to write this assignment, you will have to understand the argument or points that the article’s writer makes. Your summary of the article will reflect your complete understanding of it, whereas, the response will be a piece-by-piece analysis of the writer’s argument/s. In both these activities, you will have to show a good comprehension of the article, as well as show your own views regarding the ideas posed by the writer.
Choose one of the following:
- Jeremy Adam Smith "Our Fear of Immigrants" (p. 750)
- Grant Penrod "Why We Hate the Smart Kids" (p. 759)
- Andrew Leonard "Black Friday" (p. 164)
- Approximately 300 words long.
- Include a few quotes from the primary article
- Do NOT include your views the summary should be unbiased.
- Refer to the “How to Write Summary” handout when working on your summary.
The response (your opinion).
- Make three distinct points to respond to the article. (NOT in bullet points or with numbers; must be clear in paragraph format)
- Make one point supporting the writer
- Make one point that doubts him/her.
- The third point can be either.
- Use outside sources to support your claims. Be prepared for your ideas to change and grow with the research you do.
- You are required to use at least two outside and scholarly sources for this essay.
Criteria for Grading
- 3-5 pages long
- A succinct summary of the article
- Valid and knowledgeable response points
- Validity and use of outside sources to support your points
- Correct use of MLA format
The databases below are wonderful places to get a great overview of an issue. You will be prompted to log into the database.
CQ Researcher Online (no archive) This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here? Great starting place for original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
- What's Included? Provides an introductory overview, relevant questions, a background and chronology on the topic, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, and a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here? A rich resource for debaters. Covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana.
- What's Included? Pro and con viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, magazines, images, video, audio, and more.
- Getting Articles? While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
Credo Reference: Complete Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here? The best place for background information to start your research.
- What's Included? Reference material like dictionaries and encyclopedias.
LSC-Kingwood Learning Commons | Ask Us: Kingwood.Library@LoneStar.edu | Reference: 281.312.1693 | Circulation: 281.312.1691 | LIB 100, 20000 Kingwood Drive, Kingwood, TX 77339