It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find articles, e-books, streaming video & music in LSCS Libraries' research databases. This guide includes databases available to all LSC-Kingwood students, faculty & staff.
If you are not on a LSCS campus, select any database and enter your 14-digit libray barcode number found on the back of your LSCS ID. For most databases, you may also use the alternate link for "LSC-Jakarta and LSC-Online" and login using your MyLoneStar username and password.
NOTE: Off-campus access to select databases requires a library barcode number issued by LSC-Kingwood Library.
Enter a one or two word keyword phrase in the search box for Credo Reference and select Search. From the search results page, select Topic overviews from the left menu.
Read an overview of an issue and browse opinions from experts on both sides of a question to help focus and develop your topic. This database also includes:
articles from newspapers, popular magazines, & academic journals
statistical and reference sources
recommended web sites.
Search the content of over 60,000 eBooks:
Tip: Looking for popular fiction? Our partnership with Harris County and Montgomery County Public Libraries provides access to both eBooks and digital audio books! Log in with your LSCS 14-digit barcode number and PIN (usually the last 4 digits of your phone number!).
Provides contextual information on hundreds of current and significant scientific topic; includes videos, audio, experiments, and projects in addition to articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals.
Best Bets for Most Subjects
For most subjects, the databases below will help you find articles, eBooks, and videos on most topics. For scholarly journal articles or specialized subjects, explore the subject tabs!
High-quality educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities BBC and PBS.
Note: Disable Compatibility View under Tools menu in Internet Explorer if the films do not play on your IE browser. Compatible browsers include: IE 8.0+ Mozilla Firefox 4.0+ Google Chrome 3+ Apple Safari 4.0+. Faculty, please contact your librarian to find out how to setup and link playlists.
Comprehensive summary of statistics about the United States population, industries and more. Browse broad subject categories or search to locate statistics or use as a guide to more information in print and on the internet. Sources include the United States government, as well as commercial publishers.
Search over 650 reference books on a variety of topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science. Link to related articles from selected dataases.