Find Primary Sources on the Web - HUMA 1302H - Charles Darwin & Abraham Lincoln: The Liberty of Science and the Science of Liberty

Primary Source Information on Charles Darwin

Darwin Correspondence Project
On this site you can read and search the full texts of more than 7,500 of Charles Darwin’s letters, and ﬁnd information on 7,500 more. Available here are complete transcripts of all known letters Darwin wrote and received up to the year 1869.
Darwin Manuscripts Project from the American Museum of Natural History
The AMNH Darwin Manuscripts Project is a historical and textual edition of Charles Darwin's scientific manuscripts, designed from its inception as an online project. The database catalogs some 96,000 pages of Darwin scientific manuscripts.
more...less...
On this site you will find the manuscripts that record Charles Darwin's work as a practicing scientist. Whether you are a student or a researcher, our goal is to offer you digital access to the primary evidence for the birth and maturation of Darwin's attempts to explore and explain the natural world.
In these documents, you can trace the development of Darwin as a thinker and you will meet Darwin as a keen-eyed collector, an inspired observer, and a determined experimenter. You will also find Darwin the shrewd reader, attuned to his cultural context, and the strategic writer, ever reconsidering and revising.
Darwin Online
Includes the largest collection of Darwin's papers and manuscripts, with images and text. Consult the for help on using the website.
Evolution: This View of Life
Online general interest magazine with all content coming from an evolutionary perspective
The Victorian Web

Special Articles on Darwin

Science - Year of Darwin
The journal Science offers The Year of Darwin, with links, books reviews, multimedia and more. Be sure to check out the January 9, 2009 issue with cover story on Darwin and the monthly series of essays.
Nature - Special Issue on Year of Darwin
The journal Nature offers Darwin 200: Beyond the Origin, also with links, book reviews, multimedia and more. Be sure to check out the November 20, 2008 issue with the cover story on Darwin.

Primary Source Information on Abraham Lincoln

Abraham Lincoln Online
Abraham Lincoln Association
Mr. Lincoln's Virtual Library
A cooperative project from the Library of Congress which highlights selections from two of the Library's collections.
The American Presidency Project
Established in 1999 as a collaboration between John T. Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Our archives contain 104,108 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
Papers of Abraham Lincoln
The Papers of Abraham Lincoln is a project of the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency and the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. The Papers now requires a login.
The Search for Lincoln's Legal Papers: A Mutual Accomplishment of Archivists and Historians
The staff of the Lincoln Legal Papers project has spent the better part of twelve years collecting nearly 90,000 documents associated with the legal practice of Abraham Lincoln.
more...less...
The importance of archival collections for our project is evident in the following numbers. Of the 88,462 documents the project has accessioned into its collection, we found 36,259 in county court houses across the state; 28,342 at Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD); 4,366 among the holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA); and 3,915 at the Illinois State Archives.
Making of America
Digitized volumes from University of Michigan Library holdings containing primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Best of the Web

ArchiveGrid (Beta - OCLC WorldCat)
Locate specific archival collections from about 1,000 organizations currently listed. Search by topic or geographic area.

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
more...less...
The Library's mission is to support the Congress in fulfilling its constitutional duties and to further the progress of knowledge and creativity for the benefit of the American people.
American Memory Collection
American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
more...less...
It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept forever.
more...less...
The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but its major holdings date back to 1775. Of note, NARA is the keeper of the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights.
Internet Archive
"The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, it provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public."
more...less...
Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.
Project Gutenberg
Provides access to thousands of free e-books, including primary source material. Books can be read online or downloaded into PDF or Kindle form.

HUMA 1302H - Charles Darwin & Abraham Lincoln: The Liberty of Science and the Science of Liberty: Find Primary Sources on the Web

Primary Source Information on Charles Darwin

Special Articles on Darwin

Primary Source Information on Abraham Lincoln

Best of the Web