Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Think Like a Librarian - Searching Article Databases
Electronic databases are purchased by the libraries for your research use. To find articles in newspapers and journals, letters, reference books, illustrations, photographs and more, use your updated library card to log in to the following databases. If you find an interesting article that is not full-text, you may request it through interlibrary loan (I.L.L.). Contact the librarian if you need help getting an article. There is some overlap of articles in the databases, but all are excellent sources of information for research. We encourage you to use more than one.
HINT: Choose an appropriate database from the Subject Guide to databases or select from our alphabetical list of databases. Use the barcode number from your Lone Star College ID or library card to log in to any of our databases from off-campus.
When searching the databases, remember to select "full text" or "Articles with text" to limit your search. Choose HTML or PDF versions to view full text. You may want to limit your articles to those that are scholarly/peer-reviewed.
Full-text Articles from These LSCS Libaries' Databases
Academic Search Complete
Includes a broad selection of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Tips for searching Academic Search Complete:Try common and medical terms for your condition. Once you have search results, examine the limits to the left of the result list to limit articles to full-text, scholarly and by date. Use the Subject Headings link at the top left of the database to find successful keywords. Questions? Go to the Citation Help tab and use our Chat button!
Health and Medical Databases:
Also useful for this assignment:
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)
or a different perspective on herbal and nutritional supplements and alternative treatments, try this database which includes full-text research journals, pamplets, reports, proceedings and consumer health newsletters. If you have trouble finding enough articles, try clicking on the link to "Subjects." Search your term and retrieve a list of alternative subject terms.
LSC-Kingwood Library | Ask Us: Kingwood.Library@LoneStar.edu | Reference: 281.312.1693 | Circulation: 281.312.1691 | LIB 100, 20000 Kingwood Drive, Kingwood, TX 77339