Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Think Like a Librarian - Searching Article Databases
Electronic databases are purchased by the libraries for your research use. Use them to find articles in newspapers and journals, letters, reference books, illustrations, photographs and more. Home access to article databases is available with your updated library card barcode. If you need assistance finding an article contact the Reference Librarians and they will help you get the article. They will need full bibliographic information - and your name and address. Send your phone number as well, so they can contact you if necessary.
Use the barcode number from your Lone Star College ID or library card to login to these online journal databases.
Full-text Articles from These LSCS Libaries' Databases
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Full text consumer health information from 150 sources on medical sciences nutrition childcare sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Full text from some 550 scholarly medical journals plus citations and abstracts from 850 others.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database; full text of articles from over 5300 journals magazines and newspapers plus image collections.
Suggested Search Terms for Chronic Diseases
Bipolar Mood Disease
Suggested Search Terms for Hypokinetic Disease
High Blood Pressure
Low Back Pain
Adult Onset (type 2) Diabetes Mellitus
LSC-Kingwood Library | Ask Us: Kingwood.Library@LoneStar.edu | Reference: 281.312.1693 | Circulation: 281.312.1691 | LIB 100, 20000 Kingwood Drive, Kingwood, TX 77339