Search over 650 reference books on a variety of topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science. Link to related articles from selected dataases.
Provides contextual information on hundreds of current and significant scientific topic; includes videos, audio, experiments, and projects in addition to articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals.
Set up a personal login to use the Stat!Ref app for handy reference all semester or use on the web. Stat!Ref's online medical library lets you search 100+ titles for nursing, dental hygiene and other healthcare professionals; includes CPT, ICD-9-CM, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, and Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer™ reference books.
Major full-text database for nursing and allied health professionals; use the CINAHL headings to quickly find the correct terminology for a disease or syndrome and add subheadings for a more focused search - find out how!
PubMed includes MedLine, a comprehensive database of medical research, along with citations from other sources. Don't forget to use the limits on the left column of your search results to limit by year, free full-text available, type of article and more! Learn how to search using Medical Subject Headings for even faster search results.
Find information on health conditions, wellness issues, and more in easy-to-read language on MedlinePlus, the up-to-date, trusted health information site from the NIH and the National Library of Medicine.
Evidence-based search engine for locating systemic reviews, standards and research from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed database. Sign up for an account to save search history, note important/useful articles (CPD/CME) and link to LSCS Libraries' A - Z database to search for the full-text - look for the "Full Text: Lone Star College" link on articles only.
Search by publication title or browse by subject for full-text content located in LSCS Libraries' subscription databases or available through a direct subscription. Full-Text Finder also includes some internet-based publications and collections that provide free content.
Cover: The casing of the book. It will include the title and author on the front and spine. Typically covers are made with a harder material that the inner pages: cardboard, cardstock paper, leather, or fabric.
Title Page: The book's title and all the authors' names will be listed. You will also find the publisher and place of publication listed at the bottom.
Verso: Meaning "on the turn side of the page"; found on the other side of the title page. You will find the copyright and publication dates. Hint: This is also a great place to find subject headings given to the book by the Library of Congress; great keywords!
Table of Contents: A list of Chapter headings and subheadings with the page number.
List of Diagrams, Charts, Photos, or Illustrations: Found in technical books, an additional contents list offers pages for figures found throughout the books.
Foreword: Generally it is written by someone other than the author as an introduction to the subject in the book.
Acknowledgments: This is where the author gives thanks to all those who have helped him or her write the book.
Preface: Written by the author, the preface introduces you to the author's thesis or argument for the book. It will give you an idea about the author's bias and the level of research conducted.
Chapters: Books are generally broken up into sections, or chapters, to organize the thoughts, into manageable subtopics, stories, or arguments.
Afterword: Extra information on the book's topic included at the back of the book.
Notes and Appendices: Additional information, charts, resources to support the information in the main areas of the book
Bibliography: Lists of resources the author used in his or her research for the book.
Glossary: A list of terms found at the back of the book. It is organized in alphabetical order with definitions for each term; like a dictionary.
Index: Found at the back of the book, the index is a detailed list of topics, people, places, and other significant terms found throughout the book. It is organized in alphabetical order and includes the page(s) where you will find that information. This is a great place to search for your keywords to evaluate how helpful the book may be for your research.
Author's Biography: Information about the author's professional life.
The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Respiratory Health Program (RHP) is one of seven health and safety cross-sector programs in the NIOSH Program Portfolio. It advances NIOSH efforts to prevent work-related illness, improve workers’ respiratory health, and encourage multidisciplinary cooperation and collaboration across NIOSH programs and with external partners. RHP addresses a range of hazardous exposures and related health outcomes in every industrial sector.