Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Exploration Project

Student Edition

The career exploration project encourages you to connect your personal life to your professional future.

Make sure that you have completed at least one of the following surveys to understand your personality.


Pick a career that interests you and investigate all aspects of being one.

You are expected to use at least three resources. The Occupational Outlook Handbook will be one of your sources. The box below lists various places to find other useful information about your career.

Take notes about the career and where you are this information. For extra help, use the document below to keep your information organized.

Scroll down the page for an extensive list of citation examples.

Find Information

These databases are the most useful source of information for your career research. The data is collected and organized by the U.S. government.

You have access to a large collection of digital articles that are freely available through the Library's Databases. They are available at any time. Once you click on the database link, an authentication page will come up. You can either:

  1. Enter your Library Card number (14 digits long). It's found on the back of your student ID card next to the LONG barcode. Or,
  2. Click on the link that says "LSC-Online users log in here." It will take you to another page to log in using your myLoneStar username and password.

eBooks

Reality Check Resources

Write Your Paper

Your paper should have multiple paragraphs that are organized by ideas. Below is an example of how to structure your paper:

  1. Introduction and thesis statement
  2. Background information about the career
    1. Specifications and responsibilities
    2. Work conditions
    3. Benefits and drawbacks
    4. Expected salary
  3. Why did you choose this career
    1. How does it fit with your learning style and personality
    2. Why are you interested in this career?
    3. What are your strengths that will contribute to your success in this field?
    4. What potential weaknesses might hold you back?
  4. Next Steps
    1. What are the required degrees, certifications, and/or experience for this career?
    2. What are your plans to ear these credentials?
    3. What are your plans to gain experience?
    4. What can you do now to prepare to take these steps?
  5. Conclusion
    1. Why do you think this position is a good fit for you?

Created by Tracie Kamenoff, 2014

Below are example citation entries that are commonly used in this assignment.

Note that there are pieces of information that you will have to change:

  • Change red and crossed-out content to match your researched career, publication date, and url.
  • Remove the http:/ part of the URL and make sure that it is hyperlinked so that your instructor can click and open up your source of information.
  • Works Cited list is in alphabetical order by author.
  • Works Cited is double space with a hanging indentation.

Online Databases

United States, Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Musicians and Singers." Occupational Outlook Handbook,  18 Apr. 2018www.bls.gov/ooh/entertainment-and-sports/musicians-and-singers.htm

"Geoscientists." My Next Move. National Center for O*NET Development, www.mynextmove.org/profile/summary/19-2042.00.

Occupational Information Network (O*NET). "Summary Report for: 29-1141.00 - Registered Nurses." O*NET Online. National Center for O*NET Development, 2010, www.onetonline.org/link/summary/29-1141.00.

 U. S. Dept. of  Labor, Employment and Training Administration, CareerOneStop. "Occupation Profile: Financial Managers: Texas." 2016www.careerinfonet.org/occ_rep.asp?next=occ_rep&Level=&optstatus=111111111&jobfam=11&id=1&nodeid=2&soccode=113031&menuMode=&stfips=48&x=21&y=4

Career Booklets

Careers in Engineering: Structural Engineer. Inst. for Career Research, 2008, Institute Research No. 297.

Personal Interview

Smith, Suzy. Personal Interview, 10 Apr. 2015.

Reports

"Personality Type Report Exclusively for Jane Doe." Do What You Are.  Human eSources. 21 Nov. 2014.

"SmarterMeasure Assessment Report." SmarterMeasure. Smarter Services, LLC. 7 Oct. 2014.

Texas Workforce Commission and Texas Education Agency. Labor Market and Career Information. Texas Reality Check. 2014www.texasrealitycheck.com/RealityCheckTotal.aspx?city_id=15

Website

"LSC-Kingwood Career Services." Student Services, Lone Star College, www.lonestar.edu/kingwood-career-services.


 

Career and Employment

Below are helpful resources provided by the Career Services Center.

The government databases have collected information about job titles, skills, education, and technical requirements. They are excellent sources to help you build and cater your résumé to the position to which you are applying.

Have You Tried Googling Yourself?

Your future employers will likely Google you before they hire you to learn about who you are. Think about your digital footprint. What information, videos, and pictures that you have shared with your online communities that is available to the online public? Think about how that will affect your chances of employment?

Learning Commons Services Information

 Live Chat with a Librarian 

You may be chatting with a librarian on a different campus. You can always ask to talk to a Kingwood Librarian and they will transfer you over to us.

Send Us an Email

emailKingwood.Library@LoneStar.edu

 Make an Appointment and Video Chat with Us

Appointments can be made through the Appointments button or by going to the WC Online scheduling tool. Sessions are a minimum of thirty-minutes long in WebEx Meetings.

Virtual Services

(chat, email, & appointments)

Sunday Closed
Monday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m. D2L & Office Help

9 a.m. - 8 p.m. Research & Citation Help

Tuesday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m. D2L & Office Help

9 a.m. - 8 p.m. Research & Citation Help

Wednesday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m. D2L & Office Help

9 a.m. - 8 p.m. Research & Citation Help

Thursday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m. D2L & Office Help

9 a.m. - 8 p.m. Research & Citation Help

Friday 8 a.m. - 2 p.m. D2L & Office Help
Saturday 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. D2L & Office Help

Kingwood.LRC-Ref@LoneStar.edu

Make an Appointment

 

On-Campus Services

(in the Learning Commons)

 Hours

Monday 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. 

Tuesday 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. 

Wednesday 2 p.m. - 6 p.m. 

Thursday 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.

 Make an Appointment

  • D2L and M.S. Office Help 
    Word, Excel, and PowerPoint

  • Math, Science, and Writing Tutoring 

  • Research & Citation Help

  • One-Button Recording Studio 
    (NO help provided)

  • Solo Computers (NO help provided)

Questions?

 Library Services
Kingwood.Library@LoneStar.edu

 Tutoring Services & Appointment Help
Amanda.R.Vela@lonestar.edu

281-312-1693

 

Keeping the Learning Commons open at this time has the potential to harm our community more than help. Our space will be closed until further notice.

Please visit the Lone Star College Coronavirus Update page for news from the college system.

Microsoft Office Apps and D2L Help   Tutoring and Study Skills

Research and Citation Help  Professional Development: Online Instruction

Tutoring & Study Skills: Writing, Math, Science


LSC-Kingwood Library | Ask Us: Kingwood.Library@LoneStar.edu | Reference: 281.312.1693 | Circulation: 281.312.1691 | LIB 100, 20000 Kingwood Drive, Kingwood, TX 77339