Guides: DHYG 2201: Supporting Evidence-Based Practice / Literature Review: Finding Resources

Suggested Resources

Academic Search Complete
- Why Search Here?
  When you do not know where to start, start here! It's a multi-disciplinary full-text database.
- What's Included?
  Both scholarly and popular journals dating back to 1887, with the majority full text, on a wide variety of subjects.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Why Search Here?
  Best tool for medical research.
- What's Included?
  Nursing and allied health journals, references, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
Lexidrug Dentistry
- Why Search Here?
  Put patient safety first with thorough dental-specific pharmacology and drug interactions screening.
- What's Included?
  Includes an extensive dental and medical reference library, drug alerts and interactions, drug identification, drug dosage calculators, and patient after-care information crafted especially for dentistry
Micromedex
- Why Search Here?
  Provides evidence-based medical reference information about drugs and drug interactions, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine; includes patient information.
- What's Included?
  Drugs and drug interactions, toxicology, diseases, acute care, alternative medicine, and patient information.
Stat!Ref
- Why Search Here?
  Medical library that enables users to cross search evidence-based, authoritative references in seconds.
- What's Included?
  Free mobile app for clinical use. Healthcare e-sources, BoardVitals, EBMcalc, and medical news (evidence alerts, drug interactions, and drug shortages).

ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry
The American Dental Association has gathered together systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, tutorials and other resources to support Evidence-Based Dentistry, all in one practical website.
The Cochrane Library
View summaries of peer-reviewed, expert systematic reviews designed to support evidence-based decision making in clinical practice. The Cochrane Library is made up of six main databases. This is the free online version of this database.
Google Scholar
Link the LSC Library in your settings to find sources through the scholarly side of Google.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine)
PubMed includes MedLine, a comprehensive database of medical research, along with citations from other sources. Don't forget to use the limits on the left column of your search results to limit by year, free full-text available, type of article and more! Learn how to search using Medical Subject Headings for even faster search results.
PubMed Central
This version of PubMed is the one that has all free full-text archive for medical research from NIH and NLM.

Full Text Finder
- Why Search Here?
  Looking for the full article? This will show you if the article is in a database that we subscribe to.
- What's Included?
  Search for the publisher; then look at the publication date range.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Found the perfect article, but can't access it? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL) in a pinch!
***NOTE: ILLs may take a while to come in so keep this in mind when making a request***

DHYG 2201: Supporting Evidence-Based Practice / Literature Review

Suggested Resources

Suggested Tutorials