Guides: ENGL 1301: Rhetorical Research: Web Resources

Web Resources, provided by Dr. Gutierrez

General Resources:

ArtLex: The Art Dictionary and Encyclopedia
A very comprehensive, cross-indexed, glossary of art and art history terms, with tons of images.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts, decorative arts and architecture from the 3rd to 19th centuries.
Art History Writing Handout
This handout from the Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill discusses tips for writing about art history.

Introduction to Color Theory
Originally created by Tiger Color, a company that made color scheme design software but has now closed. Accessed through the Internet Archive WayBack Machine.

Resources for Option 1:

Artemisia Gentileschi, Judith Slaying Holofernes
By Dr. Esperança Camara, from Smart History
Female Artists in the Renaissance
By Dr. Deanna MacDonald, from Khan Academy
Sofonisba Anguissola
by Dr. Lauren Kilroy-Ewbank, from Khan Academy
Gentileschi, Conversion of the Magdalene
by Dr. Jesse Locker, from Khan Academy
Advancing Women Artists
The Advancing Women Artists website discusses Plautilla Nelli and Artemisia Gentileschi.
Artemisia at the National Gallery
Online exhibit from Google Arts and Culture

Resources for Option 2:

Leonardo and The Last Supper
By Dr. Steven Zucker and Dr. Beth Harris, from Khan Academy
Ceiling of the Sistine Chapel
By Christine Zappella, from Khan Academy
Raphael, Galatea, an Introduction
By Dr. Heather Graham, from Khan Academy
Gentileschi, Judith Slaying Holofernes
By Dr. Esperança Camara, from Khan Academy
Explore "The Last Supper"
Online exhibit from Google Arts and Culture

Resources for Option 3:

Claude Monet - Artwork & History
Art Collection Through Google Arts and Culture
Berthe Morisot - Artwork & History
Art Collection Through Google Arts and Culture
Mary Cassatt - Artwork & History
Art Collection Through Google Arts and Culture
Guide to Impressionism
The National Gallery, London
Impressionism, An Introduction
Smarthistory through The Center For Public Art History

Resources for Option 4:

Commemorative Art
Oxford Art Online search results
Art In Parks
Houston parks with commemorative artwork.
The Significant Role of Art In Shaping Our Society
Chitkara University - How commemorative art shapes society.
Commemorative Coin Programs
United States Mint - How coin art represents important people in history