Literary Criticisms - The Things They Carried - Tim O'Brien

Databases for research

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here?
  One of the most reliable resources for in-depth, scholarly, full-text articles.
- What's Included?
  The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here?
  Find authoritative humanities and social science journals from some the worlds most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
- What's Included?
  Current scholarly humanities and social sciences content.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full-text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here?
  A wide range of overview essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works.
- What's Included?
  Literary criticism essays, topics and themes, Shakespeare Center, videos of classic plays and films, full text classic works, and writing tips.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here?
  When you do not know where to start, start here! It's a multi-disciplinary full-text database.
- What's Included?
  Both scholarly and popular journals dating back to 1887, with the majority full text, on a wide variety of subjects.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here?
  Provides researchers with literary resources to support their literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented.
- What's Included?
  Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews.

Searching for Research Books

Books for Research

Critical Companion to Tim O'Brien

The link takes you to one of the articles in the book. The entire book is available at the LSC-North Harris library

How to Revise a True War Story

Soldiers Once and Still

Available as an ebook or in hard copy.

The Things They Carried - Tim O'Brien

If you click on the title, you will get to one essay in this book. The book is also available in hard copy.

Tim O'Brien: The Things He Carries and the Stories He Tells

A Trauma Artist

Available as an electronic book or hard copy.

War in Tim O'Brien's the Things they Carried

Available as an electronic book and also in hard copy.

The Wars We Took to Vietnam: Culture Conflict and Storytelling

Possible Topics to Research

Courage
Gender
Guilt
Innocence
Weapons
Setting
Symbolism
The Draft
Storytelling
Heroism
Voice
Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome
Truth
Superstition
Retribution
Compare to another story, such as The Sun Also Rises or The Red Badge of Courage

The Things They Carried - Tim O'Brien: Literary Criticisms

Beginning Your Research