Skip to Main Content

1. Style Guide

Standards, Guidelines, and Tools

Learning Commons Hours

FALL HOURS


August 28 - December 17

Learning Commons 

website: https://www.lonestar.edu/kw-learning-commons

email: Kingwood.LearningCommons@LoneStar.edu

Phone: 281.312.1693

Library Services

email: Kingwood.LearningCommons@LoneStar.edu

Phone: 281.312.1691

 Tutoring & Study Skills

website: www.lonestar.edu/lsc-kingwood-tutoring

email: Jennifer.R.Keller@lonestar.edu

Phone: 281.312.1439

Learning Commons Hours

Make an appointment in WC Online Appointment Scheduler

Sunday Closed
Monday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Tuesday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Wednesday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Thursday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Special Hours 

Closed for LSC Holidays

  • September 4
  • November 22 - 26

The week before finals: December 4-9  

 Finals week: December 11-16

Sunday

 Closed

Sunday

 Closed
Monday - Thursday 8 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Wednesday 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Thursday 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. Friday 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.
    Saturday 10-2

SPRING HOURS


January 17 - May 12

Learning Commons 

website: https://www.lonestar.edu/kw-learning-commons

email: Kingwood.LearningCommons@LoneStar.edu

Phone: 281.312.1693

Library Services

email: Kingwood.LearningCommons@LoneStar.edu

Phone: 281.312.1691

 Tutoring & Study Skills

website: www.lonestar.edu/lsc-kingwood-tutoring

email: Jennifer.R.Keller@lonestar.edu

Phone: 281.312.1439

Learning Commons Hours

Make an appointment in WC Online Appointment Scheduler

Sunday Closed
Monday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Tuesday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Wednesday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Thursday

8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. 
Special Hours 
January 8 - 12
Sunday Closed
Monday-Wednesday 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Thursday

9 a.m. - 7 p.m.
 3 - 7 p.m. Coyote Kickstart
Friday 9-3
Super Saturday 9-12

 

 

The week before finals: May 1-7

 Finals week: May 8-14

Sunday

 Closed

Sunday

 Closed
Monday - Thursday . Monday - Wednesday .
Friday . Thursday  
Saturday . Friday  
    Saturday  
The Learning Commons space and services are closed over the Winter Break, December 17 - January 7.

September 4: Labor Day

November 22 - 26: Thanksgiving Break

December 18-31: Closed

January 1-5: Closed

Reopen on January 8

January 15 - MLK - Closed

March 11-17 Spring Break Closed

CAPOW

The Internet can be a wonderful source of original or primary sources.  When you are searching the web, determine if it is a credible source by critically applying the CAPOW criteria below:

Currency
  • What is the publication date or last date updated?
  • Is the content timely, useful, and valid for your information need?

Authorship
  • Who wrote the content?
  • What makes that individual author or organization qualified to write it? What other information about the author is included?
  • Who sponsored the content?

Purpose
  • Is the purpose of the content to inform, to entertain, or to promote a product or service? 
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Does the information seem credible? If so, can you check the information against another resource (i.e. book, journal article, newspaper, etc.) for credibility?

Objectivity
  • Is content biased?
  • Are opinions balanced or does the author have an agenda?
  • How does the bias influence the information?

Writing Style

 

 

 
  • Does the information contain a bibliography, references, or a comprehensive list of sources supporting its theme, topic, or agenda?
  • Is content presented at an appropriate level for an academic research paper?
  • Does the supporting information fit your research need?
  • Is the work complete, or is it a summary of other work?

Search for Images Online through Creative Commons

Creative Commons is a global nonprofit organization that works on expanding the range of creative works available for others to build upon legally and to share.

Briefly...

Attribution means:
You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform your copyrighted work - and derivative works based upon it - but only if they give you credit.
Noncommercial means:
You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform your work - and derivative works based upon it - but for noncommercial purposes only.
No Derivative Works means:
You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform only verbatim copies of your work, not derivative works based upon it.

Share Alike means:
You allow others to distribute derivative works only under a license identical to the license that governs

Help with MLA Style: Paper Formatting and Citations

LSC-Kingwood Library guide to MLA style citation and a sample paper that includes MS Word tool tips to make formatting your paper and works cited easier.

  • MLA Style Guide
    Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 1581 views this year

60 STEPS

1 The first step is to open a new document in Microsoft Word.

We are going to start my creating the header:
Click Insert

Step 1 image

2 Click Page Number

Step 2 image

3 Click Top of Page

Step 3 image

4 Click Plain Number 3

Step 4 image

5 Type your last name to the left of the page number

Step 5 image

6 We have to change the font.
Click Home

Step 6 image

7 Click the font drop down menu

Step 7 image

8 Click Times New Roman

Step 8 image

9 Click Page 1 content

Step 9 image

10 Doubleclick onto the main area of the page to get out of the header settings

Step 10 image

11 We have to set the font for the paper. Click on the font drop-down menu

Step 11 image

12 Click Times New Roman

Step 12 image

13 Type in your name, first and last and Press Enter

Step 13 image

14 Type your instructor's name and Press Enter

Step 14 image

15 Type the name of the class and Press Enter

Step 15 image

16 Type the date: day, abreviation of the month., and year and Press Enter

Step 16 image

17 Click Center Align for the title of your paper

Step 17 image

18 Type the title of your paper and Press Enter

Step 18 image

19 Change the alignment for the body of your paper:
Click Align Left

Step 19 image

20 Start to write you paper! 

Step 20 image

21 A few more formatting notes:

Highlight all the content and
Click Paragraph...

Step 21 image

22 In the spacing section, Click Line spacing: drop-down menu

Step 22 image

23 Click Double

Step 23 image

24 Click Don't add space between paragraphs of the same ...

Step 24 image

25 Click OK

Step 25 image

26 Highlight the body of the paper

Step 26 image

27 Click Paragraph...

Step 27 image

28 In the Indentation section, Click Special drop-down menu

Step 28 image

29 Click First line

Step 29 image

30 Click OK

Step 30 image

31 Click Page 1 content

Step 31 image

32 Type in Page 1 content and Press Backspace

Step 32 image

33 Press Shift+Backspace

Step 33 image

34 Type up your paper now that it is all properly formatted.

Step 34 image

35 When you are ready to create your Works Cited page, Click Insert

Step 35 image

35b Click

Step 35b image

36 Click Pages

Step 36 image

37 Click Page Break so that you start on a brand new page without any funny issues of where it starts.

Step 37 image

38 Click onto the new Page

Step 38 image

39 Click Home

Step 39 image

40 Click Center

Step 40 image

41 Type Works Cited as the title of this page and Press Enter

Step 41 image

42 Now for the sources, Click Align Left

Step 42 image

43 Click Paragraph...

Step 43 image

44 In the Indentation section, Click Special:

Step 44 image

45 Click Hanging

Step 45 image

46 Make sure that Don't add space between paragraphs of the same style is checked

Step 46 image

47 Click OK

Step 47 image

48 Click Page 2

Step 48 image

49 Type in the author's name: 
Last name, First name.
Punctuation is important!

Step 49 image

50 Type "The Title of the Article in Quotation Marks."
Make sure the period goes before the closing quotation mark.

Step 50 image

50b Click

Step 50b image

51 Click Italic 
Type in The Name of the Journal that Published the Article,
Comma
and Click Italic to turn the italics off

Step 51 image

51b Click

Step 51b image

52 Type the volume and issue number:
vol. #, no. #,
Note: Because the abbreviation is happening in the middle of this "run-on sentence" that includes all the publication information, the abbrev. will be lower case unless it is a proper name, like a month.

Step 52 image

53 Type the page range and a period.

Step 53 image

54 Type the name of the database in Italic
comma,

Step 54 image

54b Click

Step 54b image

55 Paste the permanent link or DOI 
Period.
Press Enter

Repeat for all the sources and put them in alphabetical order based on the first letters of each entry.

Step 55 image

56 Don't forget to SAVE
Click File Tab

Step 56 image

56b Click

Step 56b image

57 Click Save

Step 57 image

58 Click Browse

Step 58 image

59 Type in File name: and Click Save

Step 59 image

59b Click

Step 59b image

60 That's it. Ask a librarian if you need any help formatting you paper in MLA style.

Step 60 image

Here's an interactive tutorial for the visual learners

https://www.iorad.com/player/1651258/How-to-format-your-paper-in-MLA-Style

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An Annotated Bibliography is a list of sources, formatted in MLA style, where each source is followed by a paragraph that talks about the source. This paragraph is the "annotation" for that article.  

In your annotations, provide a brief description and an evaluation of the source. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. 

Annotated Bibliographies - The Basics

Annotated Bibliographies can serve different purposes.

They can:

  • Review the literature on a particular subject
  • Present examples of the research you have completed
  • Provide subjects for further research. 

While an annotation can be very short, they are typically only a short paragraph of three to six sentences (about 150 words).

Tags: template
LSC-Kingwood Learning Commons | Ask Us: Kingwood.LearningCommons@LoneStar.edu | Reference: 281.312.1693 | Circulation: 281.312.1691 | LIB 100, 20000 Kingwood Drive, Kingwood, TX 77339