Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Classes

This is a generic guide to help students with research projects and to learn how to navigate through the wonderful collection of Library resources.

The internet is a great source for all kinds of information. You will be expected to use credible sources to support research papers, discussions and other projects in your online classes. While there are many newspapers, virtual archives, and even open source research journals available freely on the Web, always check with your instructor to determine what sources they consider acceptable. LSCS-Libraries, like most academic and many public libraries, subscribe to databases that index and, in most cases, provide the full-text of published books, articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals, and even videos that will support your assignments, as well as update and extend your knowledge of the subjects you study in the classroom.

Database Demo: Academic Search Complete

Having Trouble Logging In?

Use the advanced search feature to improve your search results. You have a number of options within the advanced search. Notice that you have multiple search fields. Next to each field there is a drop-down menu where you can refine your search within a certain area of the document. The following are the standard options, but you will find some databases will have more than others, based on the subject and collection.

  • Full-Text
  • Author
  • Title
  • Abstract
  • Geography
  • Journal Name
  • Publisher
  • People
  • Company
  • Subject Heading/Subject Term

 

Limiters help you narrow down your search based on various criteria. They are found underneath your search fields before you get started, and then again on the left toolbar next to your results list. Some limit options include the following:

  • Full-text
  • Content/Item Type
    • Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
    • Newspaper articles
    • Magazine articles
    • Books
  • Publication Date
  • Language
  • Publication Title*
  • Geography*
  • Subject *

*Notice that you may find that there are similar search fields and limiters. Play around with your search to see how each one influences the type of results you retrieve from the database.

No two databases are made alike. Some databases contain only scholarly sources from academic journals, like JSTOR and Project MUSE. In other databases, you can limit your searches to scholarly, peer-reviewed content.

In both cases, you should still be cautious about the information found in the database

Subject Headings are database and author provided keywords. In library speak, we consider them the "authoritative" term to use. What this means is that you will likely find more or better content on your topic as opposed to some of the search terms you may have used.

You may find a section in the upper tool bar called "subject terms," "CINAHL headings," among other names. This is like the database's thesaurus or dictionary.

There are various ways to save your articles:

  1. In some of the library databases you can file away articles that look interesting and relevant to your research. If you wish to keep the file beyond that session, you can create an account within the database to save it for a later read.
  2. Email the article and bibliographic information to yourself. Create a special file section in your email to safely store them and keep it organized.
  3. Save the articles and bibliographic information in the cloud. Through your MyLoneStar email, you have access to the OneDrive, where you can upload your articles and create and update your working bibliography. Other cloud storage locations include DropBox, Google Drive, etc.
  4. Have a backup! Save the article and bibliographic information on a flashdrive. -Make sure the drive has been formatted and ALWAYS safely eject the drive before removing it from your computer to avoid losing files.

 

 

Some databases with keep track of that search session. You can go back and review past results by clicking on the Search History button underneath your search fields. You will see your search terms and on the right you can view the results. Once you click View Results they willl be found underneath the search history results list. Your search history is not permanently saved anywhere.

 

Create a Better Search Strategy

Boolean Searching.

Boolean Searching


LSC-Kingwood Library | Ask Us: Kingwood.Library@LoneStar.edu | Reference: 281.312.1693 | Circulation: 281.312.1691 | LIB 100, 20000 Kingwood Drive, Kingwood, TX 77339