Guides: Chemical Safety: Step 1: Locate News Stories

Locate News Stories

Step 1

List three news stories (local/national/international) about chemical accidents that have occurred.

How To Find News Stories on the Web

Google or Web Search

One of the easiest ways to locate news stories is on the open web. For example, do a Google search for the words "chemical accident" or "chemical incident", then choose "News" as a limiter. If you want to narrow to a location such as Texas, you may key that into the search box as well.

google "chemical incident" and use the News tab to search google "chemical accident" and select the News tab to search

How To Find News Articles in the Library Databases

You can also locate chemical accidents/incidents in the library's news databases. Be sure to check the full-text box and narrow to newspapers. You may broaden to magazines and trade publications if you need to broaden your search. Use the phrase "chemical accident" or "chemical incident" for the best results when trying to choose a topic.

The best newspaper databases are listed below. You will need your library barcode to gain access.Don't have a library barcode? See the HELP tab for options.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here?
  Find major news content from around the world.
- What's Included?
  Brings critical news content from ongoing daily updates with its News View feature. Includes print, television, and radio news transcripts from reputed sources like the Associated Press, CNN Wire, ABC News, CBS News, Fox News, MSNBC, and PBS.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here?
  Access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- What's Included?
  The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and more.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full-text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why Search Here?
  Access old American newspapers dating back to the 18th century. These are primary sources.
- What's Included?
  Includes leading historical events as the US Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, World War I and II; to international, local and regional politics, society arts culture, business and sports. Dates range from 1764 to 2009.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.