Guides: Racism and Inequity in America: A Compilation of Resources for Understanding and Teaching: Databases

Reference Databases

Credo Reference: Complete Core Collection
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
- Why Search Here?
  A rich resource for debaters. Covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana.
- What's Included?
  Pro and con viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, magazines, images, video, audio, and more.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
Issues & Controversies
- Why Search Here?
  Find timely, in-depth articles covering complex, hot-button issues in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
- What's Included?
  Includes pro and con arguments, videos, primary documents, and statistics.

Find Scholarly Articles

JSTOR
- Why Search Here?
  One of the most reliable resources for in-depth, scholarly, full-text articles.
- What's Included?
  The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
Academic Search Complete
- Why Search Here?
  When you do not know where to start, start here! It's a multi-disciplinary full-text database.
- What's Included?
  Both scholarly and popular journals dating back to 1887, with the majority full text, on a wide variety of subjects.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
Project MUSE
- Why Search Here?
  Find authoritative humanities and social science journals from some the worlds most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
- What's Included?
  Current scholarly humanities and social sciences content.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full-text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
U.S. Major Dailies
- Why Search Here?
  Access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- What's Included?
  The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and more.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full-text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.

Find Primary Sources

Race Relations Abstracts
- Why Search Here?
  Access lists of peer-reviewed research covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- What's Included?
  More than 89,000 records dating back to 1903.
- Getting Articles?
  Most articles are citations only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
- Why Search Here?
  For research into the history of slavery in America and the world.
- What's Included?
  Contains an extensive collection of essential legal materials (court cases, trials, statutes, etc.) along with books, sermons, slave narratives, speeches, periodicals, pamphlets, poems & songs, and much more from the 18th century through the 20th century.
HeritageQuest Online
- Why Search Here?
  For genealogical, local, and family history research.
- What's Included?
  Includes the US and Canadian Census records, Freedman's Bank, US Indian Records, and Revolutionary War records.
- More Information?
  Not all information is complete. It is available for searching from home without the monthly fee on Ancestry.com.
Handbook of Texas
- Why Search Here?
  A state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association.
- What's Included?
  Consists of overview, general, and biographical entries focused on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the states diverse population and the Modern Age.
- More Information
  Articles are not updated. They rely on users to inform them of errors.
Texas Reference Center
- Why Search Here?
  Access information about the state of Texas.
- What's Included?
  Periodicals, reference books, newspapers, and videos from Associated Press about the history, ethnic, & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home, garden, sports and leisure.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full-text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email.
Teacher Reference Center
- Why Search Here?
  Find lists of instructional peer-reviewed journals.
- What's Included?
  Assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, and teaching education.
- Getting Articles?
  Most articles are citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- Why Search Here?
  Access old American newspapers dating back to the 18th century. These are primary sources.
- What's Included?
  Includes leading historical events as the US Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, World War I and II; to international, local and regional politics, society arts culture, business and sports. Dates range from 1764 to 2009.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.