Guides: EDUC 1300 Career Project (Faculty Edition): Resources For Your Students

These databases are the most useful source of information for your career research. The data is collected and organized by the U.S. government.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The "Contacts for More Information" section of the Handbook is an excellent place to find professional associations that are connected to the career. Learn about the industry and start networking!
My Next Move - Department of Labor
A user-friendly version of O*NET.
Explore careers by groups: Bright Outlook, Green, and Registered Apprenticeship. This database also provides a specialized career exploration tool for Veterans.
O*NET Online - the U.S. Department of Labor
The database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with occupations.

more... less...

Each occupational title and code is based on the 2010 version of the Standard Occupational Classification system.
Career OneStop - the U.S. Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration
Create a personal career profile that includes a job description, wage information, employment trends, education & skills requirements, and much more.

Prefer a print book? Search the library catalog. Want an eBook? Search the electronic book databases.

Subject terms: career or vocational guidance

How to Search for a Print/Hard Copy Book in the Catalog

How to Search for an eBook on a Career

You have access to a large collection of digital articles that are freely available through the Library's Databases. They are available at any time. Once you click on the database link, an authentication page will come up. You can either:

Enter your Library Card number (14 digits long). It's found on the back of your student ID card next to the LONG barcode. Or,
Click on the link that says "LSC-Online users log in here." It will take you to another page to log in using your myLoneStar username and password.

Vocational & Career Collection
- Why Search Here?
  For vocational and technical research.
- What's Included?
  Trade and industry-related periodicals.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full-text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.
Learning Express: Job & Career Accelerator
- Why Search Here?
  Gives job seekers the tools they need to explore careers, find open positions, apply for jobs, and get hired.
- What's Included?
  Job and internship search engines, skills assessments, occupation explorers, resume builders, and college & scholarship finder.
Academic Search Complete
- Why Search Here?
  When you do not know where to start, start here! It's a multi-disciplinary full-text database.
- What's Included?
  Both scholarly and popular journals dating back to 1887, with the majority full text, on a wide variety of subjects.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Teacher Reference Center
- Why Search Here?
  Find lists of instructional peer-reviewed journals.
- What's Included?
  Assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, and teaching education.
- Getting Articles?
  Most articles are citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.