Primary Sources (U.S. History)

The Louisiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of more than 144,000 digital items from Louisiana archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories, making unique historical treasure accessible to students, researchers, and the general public in Louisiana and across the globe. The items in the Louisiana Digital Library are as diverse and interesting as the people and places in Louisiana, with photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more documenting the state’s history and culture.

The University of Louisiana Lafayette's Digital Library includes a comprehensive repository of recorded and transcribed materials on French in Louisiana, as well as the Upper Mississippi River Valley, French Canada, the West Indies, and Africa.

Archive collection from the LSU Libraries.
Access to the complete list of newspapers via the Title, Parish, Decade, Historically Black, or Multi-Language Titles links on the left. Browse newspapers from Louisiana and other states at Chronicling America.

Home of the Louisiana Public Broadcasting Digital Collection and the Louisiana State Archives Multimedia Collection.

The Louisiana Division's extensive Carnival Collection includes printed materials, float and costume designs, krewe favors, photographs, and other memorabilia generated by most of the active and historical Carnival organizations from the 1860s to the present.

Louisiana State University Libraries archives collections.

This is a collection of digitized pamphlets from the City Archives and from the Louisiana Division's Louisiana State Documents Collection, Rare Vertical File, and other special collections. Also included are several cataloged booklets.

For over 50 years, the Amistad Research Center at Tulane University in New Orleans has developed and housed archives that document the modern Civil Rights Movement.