Guides: Primary Sources (U.S. History): World War I

World War I

Purpose

This is a selected bibliography of primary source collections pertaining to World War I available online. Please note, the library is not responsible for the content on these sources and it is the student's responsibility to properly cite from the proper location. There may also be secondary sources included in these collections and it is up to the student to evaluate if the item qualifies as a primary or secondary source.

American Leaders Speak: Recordings from WWI and the 1920 Election: Library of Congress
Audio recordings of speeches and other dialogs from WWI and the 1920 election.
Medal of Honor Recipients: WWI
A searchable and browsable list of WWI Medal of Honor recipients. Select advanced to search to locate honorees from other conflicts.
Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures, 1914 to 1919: Library of Congress
Digitized collection of newspaper pictorials from the New York Times and the New York Tribune during WWI.
Sassoon Journals: University of Cambridge
Digitized collection of the diary of Siegfried Sassoon, WWI soldier.
Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918 to 1919: Library of Congress
Complete digitized collection of The Stars and Stripes WWI edition, a newspaper published in France by the American Expeditionary Forces.
Veterans History Project
Biographical information on soldiers from WWI to the Iraq War. Some entries include digitized photographs, memoirs, letters and other documents associated with that particular soldier.
World War I: British Library
Digital collection of the British Library. Includes 491 searchable primary sources including musical scores, maps, drawings, photographs, diaries, documents and more pertaining to WWI.
WWI and WWII Posters: Library of Congress
Digitized propaganda posters from WWI.
WWI Records: National Archives
War records from WWI, including draft registration cards, death records, veterans homes records, and African American military records.