Guides: Professional Development Online Teaching Resources: For Your Students

We are student focused, student invested, and we advance equity! Check out how students can get access to free textbooks or browse the collections of Open Education Resources below for free material students can use in lieu of textbooks! Put links to tutoring, library services, and D2L help into your course!

HCPL Offers Drive-Up Wi-Fi
Article from 2020 discusses HCPL branches offering drive-up Wi-Fi. Wi-FI is still available for free, even without a library card, at all HCPL locations.

Open Access Resources & Free e-Textbooks

eTextbooks from VitalSource
Students can go to VitalSource and search for their book, and they can register for free by following these instructions.
Norton eBook & InQuisitive
Get a temporary, free eBook and InQuizitive by going through their help desk.

The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) Search across 18 different repositories.
OER Commons An open repository of teaching and learning resources for a wide variety of subjects and educational levels, including whole courses, lessons and simulations on specific topics, and e-textbooks.
more...less...
Most resources include a Creative Commons or GNU license that states specifically how the material may be used, reused, adapted, and shared.
OASIS Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records.
more...less...
OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
MERLOT II The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
Teaching Commons The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.
Writing Commons Free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab
Academic Earth Collection of online courses and video lectures from 25 universities including MIT, Harvard, Yale, Stanford, Berkeley, and Princeton.
AMSER: Applied Math and Science Education Repository A portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.
The Orange Grove The Orange Grove repository is Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources. The repository can also be integrated with your Learning Management Systems (e.g. Canvas, Blackboard, Desire 2 Learn). Discover, contribute, and import repository resources directly from your LMS.
COERILL - Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
MIT OpenCourseware (OCW) MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

OER Commons
An open repository of teaching and learning resources for a wide variety of subjects and educational levels, including whole courses, lessons and simulations on specific topics, and e-textbooks.
more...less...
Most resources include a Creative Commons or GNU license that states specifically how the material may be used, reused, adapted, and shared.
MERLOT II
SPARC - Complete List of Repositories
Computer Science Open Educational Resources (OER)
A good starting point to find OER resources for Computer Science. Explore the rest of the guide by subject and or topic for a general introduction to Open Educational Resources.
PHET Interactive Simulations
Science and math simulations
OER Links from LSC-North Harris
Easy to browse list of these and more OER resources.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
International directory of peer-reviewed, online journals freely available to individuals and institutions.
Beall's List of OA Publishers of Potential, Possible, or Probable Predatory Scholarly Open Access Publishers

Learning Support, Tutoring, and Library Resources

Starting Tuesday, April 14th

Your Learning Commons team can help students with basic computer questions concerning D2L, WORD, EXCEL, and Power Point.

The appointments will be hour-long. The length of appointment may change due to what kind of help is needed and by demand.

Appointments can be made through the Appointments button on the LSC-Kingwood Library website.

Log in, create an account if it is your first time,
select “Online Course Assistance,”
Select a time,
Fill out the appointment form.

Students will receive an email to confirm the time. It will include directions about how to get into the session.

Available Appointment Times:

Monday- Thursday: 8am-8pm (Last scheduled appointment will begin at 7pm).

Friday: 8am-3pm (Last scheduled appointment will begin at 2pm).

Saturday: 9am-2pm (Last scheduled appointment will begin at 1pm).

Lone Star College Kingwood Tutoring - Kingwood tutors are available online to assist with writing, science, and math. Please post this link in your online classes!

Instructions for creating an online tutoring account (fast, easy, and free!)
Instructions for creating an appointment
Instructions for accessing your appointment
Overview of appointment toolbar features (from Vanderbilt University)
To make an online tutoring appointment, please visit:http://lonestar.mywconline.com

Any Course, Any Campus:

LSC students can use tutoring services at any campus, regardless of the campus at which their classes are housed. Click here for a listing of the other campus' webpages. For fully online classes, limited online tutoring is available. Click here for more information about online tutoring.

Questions?

Students contact: Amanda.R.Vela@LoneStar.edu
Faculty and staff contact: Charlotte.I.Iserhardt@LoneStar.edu

The LSC-Kingwood Learning Commons offers D2L and Microsoft Office help (virtually and in the space) to students.

Make an Appointment in WC Online
Create an account to get to the schedule.

How to Schedule an Appointment in WC Online

How to Use D2L - Video Help Playlist

For more information about the D2L & MS Office Help services, click here.

Job Aids & Helpful Videos for Students

Help your students get the help they need!

Put a “Need Help?” module or HTML file in your D2L class that contains contact information & links that students need.

undefined

Consider using the attached information which includes: advising, counseling, career services, Microsoft Office help, CARESACT info., and more.

Attached are job aids on how to add a “Need Help?” module, a “Need Help?” HTML file, and the list of updated contact information/links for your use. -Requested by Stephanie Andrews (thanks for the great idea!)

Student Help: Virtual Learning Assistance Center (VLAC)
The content is also available to students in D2L. Search and browse help topics on using D2L for students.

The LSC-Kingwood Learning Commons offers D2L and Microsoft Office help (virtually and in the space) to students.

Make an Appointment in WC Online
Create an account to get to the schedule.

How to Schedule an Appointment in WC Online

How to Use D2L - Video Help Playlist

For more information about the D2L & MS Office Help services, click here.

Professional Development Online Teaching Resources

Course Material

Open Access Resources & Free e-Textbooks

Learning Support, Tutoring, and Library Resources

The LSC-Kingwood Learning Commons offers D2L and Microsoft Office help (virtually and in the space) to students.

How to Schedule an Appointment in WC Online

How to Use D2L - Video Help Playlist

Job Aids & Helpful Videos for Students

The LSC-Kingwood Learning Commons offers D2L and Microsoft Office help (virtually and in the space) to students.

How to Schedule an Appointment in WC Online

How to Use D2L - Video Help Playlist