Guides: ENGL 1302: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley: Find Books

Reference Materials

The following books contain OVERVIEW material from REFERENCE works. This is a great place to begin for ideas for a topic, to get keywords, and to get a better understanding of the novel.

Included information:

Biography
Plot Summary
Characters
Themes
Language, Form, and Style
Historical Context
Critical Reception

Frankenstein, 2nd edition, Norton Critical Edition (print) by J. Paul Hunter (Editor); Mary Shelley
Frankenstein: Or, the Modern Prometheus (eBook) by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
This ebook contains only the text of the unabridged 1818 version of Shelly's novel. Page numbers will be different from the Norton Critical edition listed above.

Literature and Its Times (eBook)
World Literature and Its Times (eBook)
Volume 3- British and Irish Literature
Frankenstein- V3 pages 145-153
Mary Shelley in Her Times (eBook)
Also available in print
Romantic Women Writers (eBook) by Paula R. Feldman (Editor); Theresa M. Kelley (Editor)
Shelley and Frankenstein listed under Part 1

Credo Reference: Complete Core Collection
- Why Search Here?
  The best place for background information to start your research.
- What's Included?
  Reference material like dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Bloom's Literature
- Why Search Here?
  A wide range of overview essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works.
- What's Included?
  Literary criticism essays, topics and themes, Shakespeare Center, videos of classic plays and films, full text classic works, and writing tips.
Literary Reference Source
- Why Search Here?
  A literary database covering all genres and timeframes.
- What's Included?
  It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
- Getting Articles?
  While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon. If the article is available, it will be delivered to you via email in about two weeks.

eBooks

Cover Art Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley

Cover Art 'All the World's a Stage': Dramatic Sensibility in Mary Shelley's Novels

Cover Art Gothic Science Fiction: 1818 to the Present

Cover Art Science, Gender and History: The Fantastic in Mary Shelley and Margaret Atwood

eBook Collections

eBook Central
- Why Search Here?
  Find books to read online or download to your device.
- What's Included?
  Great collection of books on a wide variety of topics.
eBook Collection
- Why Search Here?
  Find books to read online or download to your device.
- What's Included?
  A lot of course material is housed in this eBook collection along with books related to many research assignments.
Gale eBooks
- Why Search Here?
  Great reference books on arts, business, education, history, law, literature, sciences, and technology, with particular emphasis on literature and on social sciences.
- What's Included?
  Cool tools to translate, download, and save.