Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER) by Discipline: Chemistry

Open Textbooks for Chemistry

Be Prepared! Everything you should know for 1st year Chemistry
Chemistry, Atoms First
OpenStax
Chemistry from OpenStax, 2nd Ed.
Includes instructor and student resources.
CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe and Everything
From Michigan State University: This book takes an experimental approach to general chemistry, to present concepts and skills in various ways, ask students to talk about and work with their understanding, and then ask questions about what students actually mean when they use specific words and ideas. Ancillary materials also available.
Introductory Chemistry by Jessie A. Key and David W. Ball
BC Open Collection by BCcampus
Introductory Chemistry
From Saylor Foundation, Open Textbook Library

More options are out there!

There are too many chemistry textbooks to list here. Additional searching in the three main textbook repositories listed for all disciplines is recommended.

OpenStax, BCcampus, and Open Textbook Library

Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphasis, Vol. 1 by Timothy Soderberg
BC Open Collection by BCcampus
Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphasis, Vol. 2 by Timothy Soderberg
BC Open Collection by BCcampus
Virtual Textbook of Organic Chemistry
From MIT professor, William Reusch, Emeritus Faculty. Free to use and modify under CC license.
Analytical Chemistry 2.0 by David Harvey (UC Davis)
BC Open Collection by BCcampus
The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry
Organic Chemistry Laboratory Techniques
Organic Chemistry
10th ed. Open Stax
2023
Threshold Concepts in Biochemistry
2023

IntechOpen
Over 200 open books in Chemistry on different topics. Open Access.
Chemistry Techniques and Explorations: An Introductory Chemistry Laboratory Manual - First Edition
2023
Laboratory Manual: General Chemistry I Honors - First Edition
2023

Open Collections, Repositories and Courses

There are too many open courses to list here. This is just a sample. Search UCI Open, MIT Open Courseware, and LibreTexts for more options.

LibreTexts for Chemistry
This includes textbooks with learning objects such as movable, interactive models and images. Click on Bookshelves to see your choice of Chemistry courses.
LibreTexts: Chemistry
These texts provides an introduction to chemistry for those students with little or no high school chemistry. Students will be introduced to concepts fundamental to studying matter at the molecular level.
MIT Open Courseware: Organic Chemistry I
2003. Includes problem sets with solutions, exams, and lecture notes.
MIT Open Courseware: Organic Chemistry I
2005. Includes problem sets with solutions; exams with solutions.
UCI Open: Chemistry
Open Chemistry (OpenChem) provides a full curriculum of recorded lectures covering undergraduate chemistry plus selected graduate topics. Includes video lectures and ancillary materials created by top faculty members.
MIT Open Courseware: Principles of Chemical Science
This course provides an introduction to the chemistry of biological, inorganic, and organic molecules.

Visual Resources, Images

Please see the "Open Image Databases" tab on the main page.

Other Tools- Labs, Tutorials, Simulations

PHET Interactive Simulations from University of Colorado Boulder
Interactive Simulations for Science and Math. Can be narrowed by level of student from elementary to university.
General Chemistry Simulations
From SUNY and Cengage with permissions.
PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
National Science Foundation: Chemistry Now
Videos from the NSF.
ChemSpider
From Royal Society of Chemistry.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. Search by chemical name, chemical structure, etc. 2D and 3D models.
ChemCollective
The ChemCollective is currently funded by the National Science Foundation and the Department of Education. The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
Virtual Labs from Leeds
Video labs with quizzes.
Periodic Table from the Royal Society of Chemistry
Virtual Labs in Chemistry from BCcampus
Organic Structure Elucidation A Workbook of Unknowns
From University of Notre Dame
This online workbook has been developed for senior undergraduate and graduate students learning to solve the structures of organic compounds from spectroscopic data.
Practice Problems in Biomedical Organic Chemistry: Self-Guided Problems and Answers for Students in Bioorganic and Organic Chemistry, Volume I
From University of Oklahoma.
This problem set was developed to assist undergraduate students taking a one semester or two semester, non-majors course in organic chemistry.
WebSpectra: Problems in NMR and IR Spectroscopy
From UCLA - Older site. Get Crystal to evaluate.
This site was established to provide chemistry students with a library of spectroscopy problems.

Homework Systems, Software

WeBWork
WeBWorK is an open-source online homework system for math and science courses. WeBWorK is supported by the MAA and the NSF and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems. Open source and freely available for download.